Honors Experiences

What is an Honors Experience?

UTSA Honors focuses upon student learning outcomes. We develop students in order to succeed in what we call the S.P.I.C.E.S. areas. We know that the most successful, well-rounded graduates stand out in six areas:

  • Service
  • Professional Development
  • Intellectual Achievement beyond the classroom
  • Cultural Exploration
  • Engaged Living
  • Skill Development

We have intentionally designed our curriculum to help students produce demonstrable achievements and leadership in each of these areas so that students graduate with the experience required to be competitive in their field. These achievements that you will accomplish will define your education beyond GPA and onto your resume. 

Experience Requirements

As part of our curriculum, Honors College students complete six Honors Experiences. Students can complete experiences in a number of different ways:

Honors Experiences are also embedded into existing practices at UTSA that we know are impactful:

  • Taking an Honors version of First-year experience - AIS
  • Engaging in an independent study or Honors Contract with faculty
  • Pursuing a Double major
  • Writing a Thesis
  • Completing one of the college-based Honors Programs

In the following sections of our site, you'll read about how we define Honors Experiences in each of the SPICES and learn about the Experience Approval Process You can also read this "Quick Guide About Honors Experiences," which discusses questions you might consider when customizing your Honors experiences.