ONCA News Updates

11 UTSA students and alumni awarded National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship; 7 from Honors College

May 9, 2023

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded 11 UTSA students and alumni prestigious Graduate Research Fellowships to advance their graduate research education. Of the 11 students, 7 are current or former UTSA Honors College members.

Three UTSA science students win prestigious Goldwater Scholarship for undergraduate research

Apr 25, 2023

Three UTSA students were recently named Barry Goldwater Scholars. The scholarship is one of the most prestigious national awards for undergraduate students excelling in research in the natural sciences, engineering and mathematics who plan to pursue careers in research.

UTSA Honors College student Margot Duque named Truman Scholar

Apr 12, 2023

Margot Duque, a third-year UTSA Honors College student majoring in public administration and policy and minoring in French, has been named a 2023 Truman Scholar. She is one of only 62 students selected nationwide out of 705 applicants from 275 institutions.

UTSA Physics Major wins Hispanic-Serving Institution Scholarship to study Russian at Middlebury Language School

Mar 3, 2023

UTSA senior Jesus Facundo has been awarded a full scholarship by Middlebury College to study Russian this summer. He was awarded Middlebury’s scholarship for students attending Hispanic Serving Institutions (HSIs), Historical Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs), or Tribal Colleges.

Record 17 UTSA students named Gilman Scholars by US Department of State to study abroad; Eight from the Honors College

Dec 20, 2022

Seventeen UTSA students have been named recipients of the Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship. The award is designed to promote study abroad amongst Americans, allowing students of underrepresented groups to pursue international experiences to study, intern, or do service learning projects abroad.

UTSA earns prestigious Fulbright HSI award for commitment to diversity, research excellence

Oct 12, 2022

UTSA has been named a Fulbright HSI (Hispanic Serving Institution) Leader by the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs (ECA). This designation recognizes the university’s noteworthy engagement with the Fulbright Program, the U.S. government’s flagship international educational exchange program.

Three UTSA Students Selected to Travel in 2023 on Fulbright Student Program Awards

Jun 3, 2022

Three students from UTSA have been awarded grants in the Fulbright Student Program to travel to Bulgaria, India, and St. Lucia in 2022. The Fulbright program is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State and is the flagship program for international educational exchange.

Students awarded funding to advance their STEM research

May 5, 2022

Four UTSA students and alumni have earned the National Science Foundation (NSF)’s prestigious Graduate Research Fellowship. The award recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in STEM disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions.

Biochemistry student earns prestigious Goldwater Award to continue research that will demystify sensory disfunction

Apr 7, 2022

Samantha Oviedo, a UTSA junior majoring in biochemistry, has been named a Barry Goldwater Scholar. The award is the most prestigious national scholarship bestowed on undergraduate students engaging in undergraduate research in the natural sciences, engineering and mathematics.

UTSA student uses scholarship nomination to propel her plans to improve global policy

Feb 25, 2022

Politics and law/psychology double major Grace Chen is raising the academic profile of UTSA by becoming the first Honors College student to interview for the prestigious Marshall Scholarship in six years.

Four Roadrunners win Fulbright awards to travel abroad

Jul 6, 2021

Four recent UTSA graduates have been awarded grants by the Fulbright U.S. Student Program to travel to Germany, Spain and Belarus in 2022.

Three students honored with Ford Foundation fellowship

May 28, 2021

UTSA students Favour Obuseh (biomedical engineering) and Kaitlyn Varela (chemistry) were recognized this April as Ford Foundation Predoctoral Fellows out of approximately 70 students nationwide.

Students earn coveted National Science Foundation fellowships to pursue research

Apr 20, 2021

An impressive 11 UTSA students and alumni were among a select group to receive a prominent award to advance their graduate research education.

Four UTSA students named Goldwater Scholars for research excellence

Apr 15, 2021

Four UTSA students have been named Barry Goldwater Scholars, the most prestigious national scholarship awarded to undergraduate students engaging in research in the natural sciences, engineering and mathematics.

Students named Millennium Fellows to further U.N. sustainable development goals

Oct 6, 2020

Sixteen UTSA students have been named Millennium Fellows by the United Nations Academic Impact initiative and Millennium Campus Network.

Student demonstrating leadership during first year at UTSA

Jun 11, 2020

First-year Top Scholar and Honors College student at UTSA Tristan Pepper has been named a participant in the Fulbright United Kingdom Summer Institute. The prestigious award recognizes promising first- and second-year students for their academic potential and ability to serve as a cultural ambassador to the United States.

UTSA Honors College Graduate Ana-Sofia Gonzalez Wins Fulbright Grant to Spend 2020-2021 Year in Colombia

Apr 7, 2020

The UTSA Honors College celebrates recent graduate Ana-Sofia Gonzalez (2019), who has been named an English Teaching Assistant in the Fulbright Student Program.

Two Honors College juniors receive prestigious Goldwater scholarship

Apr 6, 2020

UTSA students Naomi Alyafei and Christian Strong have been awarded the 2020 Barry Goldwater Scholarship, one of the oldest and most prestigious scholarships for natural sciences, engineering and mathematics students in the United States.

Two UTSA Honors College students strike gold as 2019 Goldwater scholars

May 9, 2019

For the first time in UTSA history, two students have been awarded the distinguished Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship in the same year. Honors College students Favour Obuseh, a sophomore biomedical engineering major, and Aldo Sepulveda, a junior majoring in physics, are the third and fourth Roadrunners ever to receive the honor.