The Honors College seeks input from across the university and the greater San Antonio community so that we can serve our students with the best opportunities for success intellectually and professionally, as well as foster overall well-being.

Honors Advisory Council

The Honors Advisory council is made up of UTSA faculty, staff, and students from across the university. The council meets once each semester to discuss the Honors College programming, experiential opportunities, and forwarding new strategic initiatives across campus and within the greater San Antonio community. Faculty and staff can reach out to to express interest in the council. Students are selected each year by the Honors College on an invite basis.

Academic Year 2023

Name Unit Position
Diane Abdo University College Distinguished Sr. Lecturer University College
Hector Aguilar College of Sciences Distinguished Sr. Lecturer of Chemistry / UT System Academy of Distinguished Teachers
Maria Alejandro Director for Center of Civic Engagement Director Center of Civic Engagement
Lisa Alonzo Enrollment Management Director New Student Programs
Mark Appleford Director College of Engineering Honors Associate Vice Provost   for Undergraduate Studies
Forough Askarirad Honors College Student Representative Honors College Student Representative
Darrell Balderrama University College Director Undergraduate Research
Lydia Bueno Assistant Dean of Honors College Assistant Dean Honors College
Jinny Case Academic Affairs Sr Research Analyst Institutional Intelligence
Aaron Cassill College of Sciences Professor, Roland K. and Jane W. Blumbert Professorship in Biosciences
Drew Chapman Honors College Director of Nationally Competitive Awards / Assistant Professor of Practice
Brian Cordeau Academic Affairs Director of Reporting Institutional Intelligence
Mary Dixson Academic Affairs Distinguished Senior Lecturer COLFA
Shawn Farrell Development & Alumni Assistant VP Corporate and Foundation Engagement
Siobahn Fleming Academic Affairs Director of Research Development
Jill Fleuriet Associate Dean of Honors College Acting Dean of the Honors College / Professor of Anthropology / UT System Academy of Distinguished Teachers
Benjamin Garcia Information Management Director Customer Service and Operations Support
Kristina Garza Enrollment Management Asst Vice Provost Enrollment Marketing
Rosa Garza-Girdy Director COB Honors Assistant Dean College of Business
Kalia Glover COLFA  Senior Program Coordinator Center for Student Excellence
Teja Guda College of Engineering Assistant Professor College of Engineering
Colin Howlett Athletics Associate AD Academic Services
Kim Kine College of Liberal and Fine Arts Professor of Communication
Ram Krishnan College of Engineering Microsoft President's Endowed Associate Professor College of Engineering
Alegra Lozano Honors College Director of Advising / Assistant Professor of Practice
Terri Matiella Director College of Science Honors Senior Lecturer College of Science
Kristi Meyer Honors College Assistant Dean Special Programs / Assistant Professor of Practice
Sandy Norman College of Sciences Associate Professor, Asst Dept Chair Mathematics
Benjamin Perry Business Affairs Asst VP Facilities Planning and Development
Kevin Price Business Affairs Sr Associate Vice President Housing/Residence Life
Hazem Rached-Ali Construction, Architecture and City Planning Associate Professor Architecture
L.T. Robinson Dean of Students Dean of Students
John Santos Honors College Distinguished Senior Lecturer
Jaclyn Shaw REDKE Interim Vice President
Gail Taylor Director MARC Associate Program Director Rise
Alistair Welchman College of Liberal and Fine Arts Associate Professor Philosophy
Karen Williams College of Business Asst Dept Chair and Professor in Practice College of Business
Tammy Wyatt Director of Residence Life Vice Provost for Student Success
Rene Zenteno College of Health Community and Policy Professor College of Public Policy

Honors College Includes




Residential College Beds


First-Year Scholarship


Scholarship Funding