Faculty/Staff Directory

Meet the Staff

For general questions not directed to a specific faculty or staff member, email honors@utsa.edu.

Maria Arreguin

Romo Endowed Chair

Email: maria.arreguin@utsa.edu

Nazgol Bagheri

Romo Endowed Chair, Associate Professor of Geography

Email: nazgol.bagheri@utsa.edu

Megan Balasundaram

Honors Academic Counselor

Email: megan.balasundaram@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Bio

 

Lydia Bueno

Assistant Dean of Enrollment Management and Student Life

Email: lydia.bueno@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Aaron Cassill

Professor of Biology

Email: aaron.cassill@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Drew Chapman

Director of Nationally Competitive Awards / Assistant Dean / Director of Russian Program in Modern Languages and Literatures

Email: andrew.chapman2@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Fernando Cordova

Student Development Specialist

Email: fernando.cordova@utsa.edu
Phone: 210-458-6182

Nick DeGraw

Recruitment & Retention Program Manager

Email: nicholas.degraw@utsa.edu

Abraham DeLeon

Romo Endowed Chair

Email: abraham.deleon@utsa.edu

Karen Engates

Honors College Senior Lecturer

Email: karen.engates@utsa.edu

Jill Fleuriet

Associate Dean of the Honors College / Professor of Anthropology

Email: jill.fleuriet@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Brent Floyd

Honors Academic Counselor / Lecturer II

Email: brent.floyd@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Melissa Foster

Administrative Associate II - Top Scholar Program

Email: melissa.foster@utsa.edu

Stacie Garza

Department Fiscal Specialist

Email: stacie.garza@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Rebeca Gomez

Senior Administrative Associate / Lecturer

Email: rebeca.gomez@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Amy Hauck

Lecturer II

Email: amy.hauck@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Eliot Howard

Lecturer

Email: eliot.howard@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-8243

Eddie Hernandez

Assistant Professor of Practice

Email: hector.hernandez@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4770

Sean Kelly

Dean of the Honors College / Professor of Philosophy

Email: sean.kelly@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Alegra Lozano

Director of Honors Academic Counseling / Assistant Professor of Practice

Email: alegra.lozano@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Kristi Meyer

Assistant Dean for Special Programs / Director for UTSA Top Scholar Program / Assistant Professor of Practice

Email: kristi.meyer@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Debra Nelson

Program Manager, Recruitment and Retention

Email: debra.nelson@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Betul Ozmat

Assistant to the Dean of the Honors College

Email: betul.ozmat@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

John Phillip Santos

Distinguished Senior Lecturer

Email: john.santos@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Tara Schwegler

Senior Lecturer

Email: tara.schwegler@utsa.edu

Victoria Stephens

Senior Undergraduate Admissions Counselor

Email: victorias@utsa.edu

Jorge Villarreal

Student Development Specialist

Email: jorge.villarreal2@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Mel Webb

Program Director of Literature and Philosophy Circle / Lecturer of Philosophy

Email: mel.webb@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

Colleen Witt

Professor of Instruction

Email: colleen.witt@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4106

René Zenteno

Professor of Demography

Email: rene.zenteno@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-3140

Peer Coaches


Bianca Diaz

Peer Coach / Major: Marketing

Email: bianca.diaz@utsa.edu

Office Hours on Tuesdays and Wednesdays: 10-12 (Experiential Learning Lab)

Bio and Meeting Link 

Naomi Edwards

Peer Coach / Major: Business Management

Email: naomi.edwards@utsa.edu

Office Hours: Wednesdays 1-4 pm in the Experiential Learning Lab; Tuesday and Thursday 5-6 pm (virtual)

Bio and Meeting Link 

Elizabeth Gilmore

Peer Coach / Major: Psychology

Email: elizabeth.gilmore@utsa.edu

Virtual Office Hours on Tuesdays an Thdursdays from 12-1 pm; Mondays and Wednesdays from 5-6 pm.

Bio and Meeting Link 

Peer coaches are available to help students in the Honors 101 course, help students of any class year start to design an experience, and answer general Honors College curriculum questions. You can meet with our Peer Coaches in the Experiential Learning Lab and virtually!